Saturday 11th July 2020 – Village scrutiny

We seem to have been really busy recently. A few days in Derbyshire, a day out walking, cleaning the house, a trip to Morpeth for a few bits of shopping and a night in The Mason’s. Yes, it has finally happened! More on this in a moment. First though it felt like ages since I had walked down the river and around the village. I felt the need to go and check that everything was in order now that the tourists are back and before our guests arrive. Not the terrorists, which keeps slipping out in conversation. Best-Daughter-in-Law-to-be told me she finds it hilarious that I was once a tourist and now I constantly moan about the ‘bloody tourists’. The shoe is on the other foot now though. Do I really moan that much about them? I am not a tourist now however, I am still an Incomer. I will never be a Villager if I live here for the rest of my life. Anyway I set off up the estate and through Montagu Avenue, past the flapping plant labels. If any of the Guilden 10 know who lives in that house, please ask if I can cut the labels off? The robotic mower was cutting the grass of the nice house at the top of the road. Micro mulching on its way around the clipped lawn. I am surprised Him-playing-golf-again hasn’t requested one. He’s spending so much time on the golf course he no longer has time for his own green. As I walked on past Bertie Bassett Bottom Woman’s big house I was getting quite a glow on. It was warm under the light cloud. As I walked down the lane towards the river I noticed something strange. An old man in a wheelchair, pork pie hat, knees covered with a blanket sat in a little layby, halfway down the hill. No one else about. This is equivalent to being in the middle of a field. He looked like he had been abandoned in a patch of nettles or possibly flytipped, along with half a stone barn further down? I greeted him and followed up quickly with, “Are you ok?” He assured me he was but with little explanation, so I left him. I hope he’s not there tomorrow. There is rain due overnight. There was a women much further down the lane with a dog with really bad back legs. The poor thing was struggling to walk. Perhaps she was in charge of them both. I hope she wasn’t abandoning the dog or the old man.

The rest of my walk was pleasant. The river was running brown as the fishermen would say. Evidence of how much rain we have had recently. Lots of different wild flowers and butterflies. Much of the vegetation along the path overgrown. It was much cooler along by the woodland. Thankfully very little litter and for once no dog poo. Some people on the river on paddle boards and canoes. A few mallards bobbing about but nothing very exciting on the wildlife front. The village was another matter. A mass return of tourists. People everywhere. All the picnic benches full. Lots of tubs of ice cream being eaten. People congregating outside the Village Shop. Tourists at the bus stop. Queues at the ladies toilet. Only one in operation. The village back to normal (other than the toilet). Not quite. The castle looks abandoned like the man in the wheelchair. The grass around the castle has not been cut all year. Usually after the daffodils have died away it is strimmed. It looks so unkempt. It will take more than a strim or a Chelsea Chop to sort it out. In comparison the cricket ground looks fantastic. Verdant and manicured ready for play. The holiday lets and second homes are starting to come back to life. The pair of abandoned shoes have been removed off the wall, cushions are on seats in front gardens down on the Butts, bright coloured parasols are up, dead plants have been removed and new ones added. Signs of life around the whole village. The village needs the tourists but I did quite like it when it was empty. It’s a pity the pubs couldn’t have had a trial run just for the locals before the visitors returned. Perhaps the pubs could have a ‘locals only night’ for Incomers and Villagers instead of steak and wine night.

Yes we have finally been to The Mason’s!!!!!! 116 days since our last visit. I know many of you will be thinking that we were queuing up on the first day but we have reserved. Shown restraint. We wanted someone else to check it out first before venturing in. Off we trotted for an early tea. Best clothes on. Well, ripped white denim jeans. I wanted to look trendy but not too much like a tourist, so I opted for my darker navy Barbour. I felt nervous and excited. Going out for date night. As we reached the pub someone shuttled off the bus and in before us. I hoped that we could get a table. At the door we were greeted by the nice Barmaid hidden behind a seriously black mask with a ventilator. Well, that’s what it looked like! We used the foot pump hand sanitiser. Great idea. We gave our contact details for track and trace. Lets hope they are not needed. We were offered a table at the back. Low and behold our neighbours J&J were also in on the opposite table. Social distancing was apparent as we had a big space between us. Tables had been removed. We had to shout at one another but it was fine. A one-way system in place. If tourists get lost they need to go out through the beer garden and back round, up Brewery Lane to the front door. All orders for food and drinks taken from your table. Then you take your own drinks and cutlery off the tray. Bare tables. No condiments or flower vases on the tables. All the staff were wearing face masks. Absolutely fine and safe. I did though miss standing at the bar deciding which gin to try then changing my mind and asking for a large glass of wine. Guess what Him Indoors had? Steak and ale pie. His favourite. I had a pork baguette with stuffing and double cooked chips. Cholesterol eat your heart out! Pure heaven. I was really good though and had only one (large) glass of wine. The other two waited until I got home. I have so missed The Mason’s. It was lovely to sit and chat across a void with J&J. We then walked back with them at a leisurely pace one metre apart. I did consider checking if the old man was still on the hill. I think I got distracted talking about hair cuts. We will slowly try the other pubs over the coming weeks as we get our lives back to normal. However, we did go back into The Mason’s on Friday afternoon for a quick drink in the beer garden in-between the rain showers. We will try out the other pubs eventually. Stay safe everyone and support your local.

River walk
Warkworth Castle needing a trim
115 days- The Mason’s
The Mason’s Beer Garden 10.7.20